icon arrow trash icon arrow links icon-Wereldbol icon-Blad icon-Voetafdruk maple-leaf binoculars checkmark book brain compass film-reel fish flower germs headdress island kayak mountain pagoda pine ruler saturn search snowflake tortoise dna flasks masks museum music palette rocket-ship settings snorkel vase play cross weekly-calendar shape
Penguin with chick

Antarctica

Run time
45 minutes
Language
Dutch (English audio available with MobileConnect)
Narrated by
-
Themes
Climate
nature

This is a giant screen dome film.

Omniversum advises parents to decide whether this film is suitable for their child(ren).

It is a land of mystery and yet what happens here affects every single one of us. With never-before seen footage, our story brings audiences to the farthest reaches of this wild and majestic continent. It is the coldest, driest and windiest place on Earth with the roughest oceans and yet, weird and wonderful creatures thrive here in astounding abundance. Antarctica is the perfect fit for the Giant Screen.

Using the latest underwater filming techniques, dive beneath sea ice, more than 6 feet thick, to experience the alien world of its seafloor – thousands of purple starfish scuttling to escape being entrapped by growing ice and elaborate jellyfish dancing a deadly dance. Swim alongside playful seals, soar above mountain peaks and vast penguin colonies and witness the largest congregation of fin and humpback whales ever filmed.

Although so remote from us, Antarctica and its surrounding Southern Ocean play a vital role for the entire planet, regulating ocean currents, sea levels and its wildlife-filled waters can absorb huge amounts of carbon. New science is revealing that dramatic changes are occurring and rapidly warming this pristine land of snow and ice. No one owns Antarctica but it will take global cooperation and collaboration to protect it and ensure the future health of our planet.

Times & tickets

Select a date and time to book tickets.

Friday 6 August
Saturday 7 August
Sunday 8 August
Monday 9 August
Tuesday 10 August
Wednesday 11 August
Thursday 12 August
Friday 13 August
Saturday 14 August
Sunday 15 August
Monday 16 August
Tuesday 17 August
Wednesday 18 August
Thursday 19 August
Friday 20 August
Saturday 21 August
Sunday 22 August
Monday 23 August
Tuesday 24 August
Wednesday 25 August
Thursday 26 August
Friday 27 August
Saturday 28 August
Sunday 29 August
Monday 30 August
Tuesday 31 August
Wednesday 1 September

Our mission

Read more
asd