icon arrow trash icon arrow links icon-Wereldbol icon-Blad icon-Voetafdruk maple-leaf binoculars checkmark book brain compass film-reel fish flower germs headdress island kayak mountain pagoda pine ruler saturn search snowflake tortoise dna flasks masks museum music palette rocket-ship settings snorkel vase play cross weekly-calendar shape
Filmposter Dinos

Dino's van de Zuidpool

Run time
45 minutes
Language
English (with earphones)
Narrated by
Beau Schneider
Themes
Natural history
Science
Fauna

This is a giant screen dome film.

Omniversum always advises parents to estimate whether the film is suitable for their child(ren).

Dinosaurs of Antarctica tells the story of a changing environment at the bottom of the world. In ancient times, dinosaurs and other prehistoric creatures roamed freely in a lush landscape. Today, the continent of Antarctica holds the evidence of that ancient world, frozen beneath its ice and snow. As the climate changes again, melting Antarctic ice is allowing scientists to discover the remains of the past—including the fossils of those distinctive dinosaurs.

Viewers of all ages will enjoy meeting the newest dinosaurs, like Cryolophosaurus and Glacialisaurus, and other creatures in the film—as well as the dedicated scientists who explore the warming continent to find them and understand their habitat. Beyond presenting the reassembled skeletal structures on the giant screen, the film uses computer graphics to recreate the spectacular appearance and movement of the newly-discovered species.
Some are bizarre and fearsome reptiles, like the meat-eating Erythrosuchus with its huge jaw and deadly bite. Others, like the plant-eating Lystrosaurus with its clownish feet and horned beaks, are more likely to prompt giggles than gasps when they appear onscreen. 


While memories of these fascinating creatures will linger, it is perhaps the images of the continent itself, with its magnificent and breathtaking vistas, and its powerful story of transformation over time, that will leave the deepest impression.

Times & tickets

Select a date and time to book tickets.

Tuesday 26 October
Wednesday 27 October
Thursday 28 October
Friday 29 October
Saturday 30 October
Sunday 31 October
Monday 1 November
Tuesday 2 November
Wednesday 3 November
Thursday 4 November
Friday 5 November
Saturday 6 November
Sunday 7 November
Monday 8 November
Tuesday 9 November
Wednesday 10 November
Thursday 11 November
Friday 12 November
Saturday 13 November
Sunday 14 November
Monday 15 November
Tuesday 16 November
Wednesday 17 November
Thursday 18 November
Friday 19 November
Saturday 20 November
Sunday 21 November
Monday 22 November
Tuesday 23 November
Wednesday 24 November
Thursday 25 November
Friday 26 November
Saturday 27 November
Sunday 28 November
Monday 29 November
Tuesday 30 November
Wednesday 1 December

More films

Our mission

Read more
asd